Eat Your WHITE Foods! Yes, I said that…

WHITE. The dreaded “white foods,” right? WRONG!  White foods are some of the most powerful on the planet. I for one, am tired of the white foods bashing and am taking a stand! Take a looksee…

Image

ImageImage

Image

Of course there are more like parsnips, durian, and jicama…

Some have white varieties such as white radishes; white pumpkins; white peaches; white  nectarines; white corn, etc.

Many seeds, nuts, and beans are white…

Some I’m not sure about such as guavas. Or, for example, kohlrabi (green or purple) which, if not young or of certain variety, can have inedible colored skin and only white parts to eat — like the black radishes I mentioned in my black foods post.

Of course we must avoid processed junkola, but that isn’t real food, is it?  I mean flour is an isolated processed part of a whole. Very few whole foods are the dreaded “white foods.” I’ll give you white potatoes and popcorn, but even those are sorta okay once in awhile.

But let’s set ’em straight, shall we? Next time someone says to “avoid the ‘white foods,'” rattle off some of the above power foods. Educate them about the many delicious, healthful, anti-aging white foods that the Nutrient-Dense-Eaters among us eat to live  ;^)

  1. Quince
  2. Garlic
  3. Galangal
  4. Jerusalem Artichoke
  5. White Lima Beans
  6. Pignolis
  7. White Chias
  8. Rutabaga
  9. Banana
  10. Cashews
  11. Sunflower Seeds
  12. Cauliflower
  13. Cherimoya
  14. Chestnuts
  15. Coconut
  16. Turnips
  17. White Figs
  18. Onions
  19. Ginger
  20. White Grapes
  21.  Mushrooms
  22. Pears
  23. Plantains

Can you think of some other white foods?

StrixPhotobucket - Video and Image Hosting

13 Comments

  1. Mira McCombe said,

    May 26, 2012 at 1:32 am

    Cannellini (sp) beans … made some hummos the other day and it was so liquidy I had to thicken it with a can of chickpeas. This is Mira, writing to you. We haven’t corresponded in a long time, but I did want to tell you I’m now doing migratory bird/bat rescue and I think it had a bit to do with our brief acquaintance. Thank you Strix.

    • Strix said,

      May 26, 2012 at 6:45 am

      Hey, Mira. Bird rescue sounds wonderful and satisfying. I used to dream about a bird sanctuary.
      Speaking of dreams, dreams of flying like a bird are the best ever. Lucky birds.

      Cannellinis are nice and meaty and good for dips. I think my favorite white bean is the navy. I used to eat navy bean soup a lot.

      • Mira McCombe said,

        May 26, 2012 at 9:45 pm

        I use ground flaxseed instead of tahini for the hummos. It works pretty well. Not many flying dreams lately. But I do see a lot of interesting bird species in my dreams. Found a Woodcock downtown yesterday! And a brown bat…

        • Strix said,

          May 28, 2012 at 11:28 am

          Flax? That sounds gross :^) I think it’s that goopiness that gives me the willies. (I actually gave up flax and use chias.)

          Is a woodcock a woodpecker? Lots of those around here. They are pretty birds.

          I also saw a colony of bats last week while running. Their unmistakable squeaking gave them away. The way they fly makes them easily identified, too.

          • Mira McCombe said,

            May 28, 2012 at 1:06 pm

            Hmph.Ma’am, it is not goopy at all. It’s pretty good, considering I’ve never found a tahini that did anything for me (taste-wise or texture-wise). It is like wheat germ or something — recipe is chickpeas, maybe cannellinis, garlic, parsley, lemon, cayenne, flax. It’s fine. I know that’s not your cup of tea but oh well. I do need the ballast! 😀

            The woodcock is a very miscellaneous looking bird. I’ll see if I can route a good picture your way. Found an indigo bunting this morning, and a red bat or pipistrelle but it flew off when I set my bag down and got out the camera phone.

            • Strix said,

              May 28, 2012 at 1:56 pm

              Yea, it is sorta similar to wheatgerm, especially the golden flax — that is BEfore it gets goopy 😛

              Indigo must be gorgeous, so I looked it up and it is stunning! I love that color.

  2. mira mccombe said,

    May 28, 2012 at 5:42 pm

  3. July 1, 2012 at 5:37 am

    There are man white foods I really love, such as almonds, apples, white cabbage, rice (although I prefer the brown one), … In Germany, white asparagus is very typical which I also love a lot. http://img.21food.com/20110609/product/1307098278285.jpg

  4. Gary Sweren said,

    July 9, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    My favorite fruit is mangosteen, which I have never found here in the U.S. The husk is dark purple but the fruit is pure white; however, you’ll get purple hands eating them from the husks, not the fruit. Delicious!!!

    • Strix said,

      July 10, 2012 at 5:30 am

      Good one!I’ve never had a fresh one, Gar. but have had them dried. Would be great to find a fresh one one day. 🙂


Leave a Reply

