What Is It? Candy-Stripes and a Footlong!

Beets_chioggia-candy-striped (4)

Hmm…tentacles  Eek!

Check this out!

Beets_chioggia-candy-striped (3)

AND NO, not a footlong sandwich 😛 Keep reading …

Candy-striped gorgeous, Chioggia beets are just as delicious, if not better than red. I think they are milder than the deep red beets, with a less “beety” flavor; but some people say they taste the same. (I’m referring to tasting these raw.) These reminded me of the elusive watermelon radishes! O’ Where For Art, Thou? 😦

Golden_Beets (42)

I also like to pick up the golden and orange varieties when they are available to take advantage of the varying nutrients the colors supply me. Variety, variety! 🙂

Golden_Beets (56)

Uh, Just beautiful!

golden-beets_sliced (5)

yellow-beets (7)

I really don’t care for cooked beets, though I don’t think they taste bad at all. I used to love pickled beets served with Middle Eastern sandwiches pre-Vegan days; I’m sure those were somewhat cooked in the pickling process…not sure.

Most cooks know the way food is cut can make a difference in flavor. It’s not just for looks, though seeing can be part of eating, too. Look how pretty some beets and radishes can be:

radish-beet-ribbons - Copy

Back to the chioggias…

Beets_red-stripe_FM (2)

They look almost just like dark red beets; but have a slightly pinkish hue that betrays a clue…

Beets_striped_cut (21)

To their beautiful insides!

Beets_striped_cut (36)

Sorta zebra-ish…

Beets_striped_cut (45)

Mmmm…these shall romp joyfully in my SALAD (always the main dish!)

Beets_striped_cut (44)

Okay, so where’s the footlong?

Yellow_Summer-Zucchin_x-lrg (8)

Eek! This monster barely fit in my fridge. Yep, summa zucchini has arrived, whoo hoo! My preference for dressings and my raw pasta. Another reason to thank the fabulous local farmers 😉

Summer-Yellow-Zucchini (4)

Makes the best …

Zucchini Noodles/Pasta, Yellow Summer Squash

Or get fancy with the spiralizer 😉


Farmers’ markets are jumpin’! Get to them…NOW! 😉

Strix

2 Comments

  1. Tammy McLeod said,

    May 23, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    Nice photos. I just took a photo of some of those peppermint beets yesterday. I need to get one of those spiral slicers.

    • poxacuatl said,

      May 24, 2010 at 7:37 am

      Hi, Tammy 🙂 Aren’t they beautiful?! And they taste good too 😉 How do you eat yours?

      I enjoy my spiralizer. I’ve seen stainless steel ones for outrageous prices; but the plastic ones for about $30 are fine for me.

      I find that many people who frown at too many veggies will be willing to try something that looks beautiful. Sad, but true, haha. Anyway, when they see the various textures and popping colors all mixed into a beautiful salad or slaw, they can’t help themselves.
      Even children would want to try “candy-striped” or “peppermint” beets curlicued 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!


Leave a Reply

