The Power Of Resignation…

Richard Nixon Letter of Resignation, via WikiMedia Commons

Richard Nixon Letter of Resignation, via WikiMedia Commons

Resignation

I was reading about the aged and how, if they are resigned to negative thinking about aging, they are actually actively programming their mental and physical decline*:

WOW.

Just…wow. Wake up call! Not just for the aged, but for all of us. In many, many ways. The belief = the reality — regardless of its “truth”; regardless of its factuality; regardless of reality.
We all know the power of intent — yes, it’s powerful; But many have an intent, yet “cannot” bring it to fruition. Why?

What you say to yourself = what you believe = what you act out = your reality. If you label your challenges as “failures” — that’s what you believe, that’s what you act out, that’s what they are…that’s what you are.

Perhaps some of us have been programmed since childhood to believe certain things about ourselves — things people told us we were/are. What are those things? Are they true? Do you believe them? Do you — have you acted them out, regardless of intention? Regardless of the irrationality of them, regardless if you “know” logically they are not “true” — have you made them true?

Who are you listening to now? Do they tell you, encourage you to be your best? to do your best? to be all you can? Do they encourage you to give and be 100%? 90%? Or maybe just 70% is good for you? Do they tell you or insinuate you can’t do 100%? Why? Why do they — why would they tell you something like that? Would they say that to a — or to their — child?  Maybe that’s all you’re capable? Is that what they tell you? Is that what you tell you? Is that what you internalize? believe? resign?

Maybe the time to actively change that is now. Resign to that. Hand in your resignation to your boss, that “Mr./Mz. Negativity.” Resign to change those beliefs; untruths; those resignations…

You are what you believe — not what you parrot you believe. If you believe you can only achieve 90%, that’s all you will yourself to achieve. You will it.

Most of us know the right things to say and are supposed to subscribe to  — the pc things; the mantras; the “m hm’s” —  but are our results manifesting this?

~ * ~

The ancestor to every action is a thought” _Emerson

~ * ~

If you give 100%, there is no need for, no room for self-disappointment and shame; no room for guilt or excuses, or reasons for giving up. Give all you can give and there is no more. Let those thoughts be positive and what you truly want, in order that the actions you truly want proceed them.

~ * ~

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes.”

The current way to say this:

When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.”

~ * ~

What do you believe? What are you resigned to?

If you believe you can be ALL you can be, then you can. You can. You WILL.

These are lessons my Dad taught me…Still, it’s an ongoing learning experience, this life, isn’t it? Sometimes, I’ve had to re-learn or strive to apply this to all areas of life AND remember to apply it to myself, and not just “pep up” others with it…because then it just gets…trite, cliché.

Make it happen.
DECIDE.
Believe.
Will it.
Do it.
Strive.
Act.
Are.
Am.

Hand in that resignation of negativity smile

Strix

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

* The MacArthur Study (also, Successful Aging, by the authors, John Wallis Md Rowe and Robert L. Kahn)

Read more about aging and nutrition

Successful Aging

Previous post on Aging

16 Comments

  1. Argent said,

    April 25, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    You know what’s hard, though? Knowing what to want. That is, wanting what will make you happy.

    I think.

    • poxacuatl said,

      April 25, 2009 at 10:02 pm

      Hm. You said two different things here:

      1. Knowing what to want.

      Only you would know what you want. You used the word, “to,” “to want”; you didn’t say knowing what “I” want. So, the implication is that you are looking outside yourself or for someone to provide you an answer. As if there is something you are supposed “to want,” rather than what you do want. So, your statement is rather vague :). I could infer you know what you want, but don’t trust it, and are looking somewhere else for “what to want.” OR, you believe you don’t know what you want , or what to want…
      I guess, though, most of us are in that situation to an extent…sort of victims of this culture (ultimately of our collective selves, really)where we are continuously told what we should want, how we should look, act, think, etc. And we get used to being told.
      My belief is that the answer is in us, in other words, and it cannot be found in someone else’s happiness/life/way; it can’t be dictated. There’s no handbook, as they say. It never works out right anyway.

      2. and then you said it’s hard..
      “wanting what will make you happy”
      It’s hard to want what will make you happy?
      Is that really what you meant? Or did you mean it’s hard to want what you think is best for you?

      Okay, and then you added, “I think” Lol! 🙂 I like that; and heck, that, I totally understand 😀

  2. Mr. Curious said,

    April 27, 2009 at 9:13 am

    Very inspiring, thanks for posting it. Negativity is a habit in thinking, and if left unchecked can devastate. What’s hard for me? Breaking a habit is hard. Wait is that my Mr. Negativity talking? I mean Breaking a habit is possible, ahmm, Breaking habits is what I do best! That’s better! Thanks Strix!

    • poxacuatl said,

      April 27, 2009 at 5:26 pm

      Mr. Curious, I think you should change your name to Mr. Positivity 😀
      That’s interesting you mention habit. Sometimes things are just habits and these huge “addictions” are molehills and not overwhelming mountains. We can get over them or replace them 😉 I have replaced habits many times. I had a habit of a “no second chances” attitude and I changed it to “Okay, then, three strikes and you’re out” haha. Well, it’s true 😛

      You’re right it’s about how you think. We can change the way we think and look at thing. But, eventually, a decision has to be made and then one has to act. Thinking too much doesn’t make things happen. Eventually, one has to “do it.”

      I had a coffee habit. I learned the world didn’t end when I gave it up 😀 In fact it got better.
      Whatever bad habit you have, Mr. Pos, I’m confident you can replace it or get rid of it 😀

  3. Argent said,

    April 27, 2009 at 10:52 am

    I did mean it’s hard to (for me to ) want what will make you (me) happy.

    Sometimes I want things, and then when I get them, I find they don’t make me happy.

    When I was a child, I wanted to be best friends with the coolest girl in class. Then I became best friends with her, and I found that it didn’t make me happy; she was cruel and manipulative.

    It’s easy enough to make things happen (I find, personally) – but what’s tricky (for me) is determining what goals to choose.

    I don’t know what “best” is — for me. So it’s hard to pursue it. Ya know?

  4. poxacuatl said,

    April 27, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    I think what you’re describing is just life :). It’s a constant learning. It’s like with ex-partners. We have to take a chance on someone/something, do our best and see, then evaluate and determine if you want to continue, etc. I don’t think that’s (discovery and moving on) the same thing as “not knowing what you want.” You can’t know what you don’t want until you choose something and try it first (speaking of unknowns, here, and not obvious harmful things). So your experiences are valuable and you learned what hasn’t made you happy. Move on. I think this is actually an exciting part of life. Of course, circumstances matter, but, generally speaking this is what makes interesting experiences.

    Knowing what you want is sort of a basic, general concept, such as wanting a “good relationship,” “a job I love,” etc. But you have to try out things and discovery is part of the process.

    It would help, too, to know what context you’re referring to here :). Job? Where to live?

    When I get in this kind of situation I weed out what I definitely know that I don’t want, then the choices are more obvious. So, I don’t want to live in a desert, I don’t want to live in the city, etc., etc. And, of course, life can always throw you a curve and you end up loving that desert :D.

    I guess I don’t know exactly how to answer you because life is a day-to-day experience, made up of decisions and consequences and how we deal with them, and how we choose to move forward. The future is unknown; all we can do is move through it, making the best decisions we know how at the time or “in the moment” as is the new way to say that. Plus, I have no idea what exactly you’re referring to 🙂

    But I do think there is a something innate in us that tells us whether something we have chosen is right or wrong and we have to listen.
    I think for some people, when it comes to a career, for example, they know right away and pursue and it works out; for others it doesn’t,and they change down the road. Others like to experience different things, then hit on something they love; some never do! Life’s a gamble or fate? I don’t know 🙂 But I do know it’s not always easy, but I think choosing something that interests you, giving it a shot is worth it, whether it works out or not. What helps is to have support from loved ones, for sure.

    Not sure if I’ve made sense 🙂 I guess I’ve rambled. I wish I had the answers!

  5. Argent said,

    April 28, 2009 at 7:06 am

    Hi there –

    I’m not referring to any particular context – just speaking abstractly, but from my own experience, as you were in your blog post. You said in your post, “Let those thoughts be positive and what you *truly* want, in order that the actions you truly want proceed them.” I was just pointing out that what each of us truly wants can be hard to pin down. Tha’s all.

    • poxacuatl said,

      April 28, 2009 at 8:19 am

      I see. I was referring to the process before the actions but knowing what you want. Your point is entirely different, coming from a place of not knowing yet, right? So then you are speaking of a different topic, I think. Maybe you can write about it for us 😉 What do you do when you don’t know what you want?

  6. Argent said,

    April 28, 2009 at 7:09 am

    But I hear you that life is a process of discovery.

    And I’m not ‘fraid to jump in.

    No – scratch that. I am, but I jump in anyway.

    🙂

    • poxacuatl said,

      April 28, 2009 at 8:21 am

      I think your way of jumping in and doing once you’ve made the decision is great. It’s what I was talking about. You don’t mess around.

  7. Argent said,

    April 28, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Right – I guess I’m talking about that place of not knowing.

    “What do you do when you don’t know what you want?”

    Excellent question, dear!!!

    I’m going to think on it! 🙂

    • poxacuatl said,

      April 28, 2009 at 3:11 pm

      Argent, I just can’t stop assigning you projects 😉 Sorry.
      Hee!

  8. Argent said,

    April 29, 2009 at 6:46 am

    No – don’t be sorry! I’ve stopped doing yoga as seriously (2x a week or so with marathon training) so the Yoga Post may have fizzled . . . But I’d love to write again for BeStrixed!

    Wheels turning . . .

  9. Kelleen said,

    May 20, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Hi Argent,
    I’m way late catching up on posts, but did want to respond to this topic that is near and dear to me.
    You brought up a very common dilemma that so many of us struggle with when you said, “but what’s tricky (for me) is determining what goals to choose.” Personally, my experience has shown me that goals/end results, or where we are heading, are not always obvious, and that is OK. I repeat, it is OK to not know what your goals are. Down the road, many years from now when you end up at one of your many destinations in life, you will stop, look behind you and see that why you chose the path you were on and the importance of being at that given destination.

    I myself am a recovering goal junkie. My life used to be goal driven on every level. A few years ago while taking courses to become a professional Life Coach (so I could help others set and achieve their goals, hee, hee), I set some 2-5 year goals. I accomplished all of them in 1 year, which was great, but it showed me that goals have a magnetic effect for me (like the magnets that are in MRIs), and they have the ability to take over my life. Since then, I’ve settled down and realized that goals really aren’t as important as so many in our Western world make them out to be. I still have goals in some areas of my life, but when I can’t figure out what my goal needs to be in a particular area, I simply hang back and watch things unfold. I follow my intuition on daily decisions and just relax, taking things one step at a time. My youngest horse (has been my biggest challenge in life for the past 3+ years) has taught me this so much. Another story for another time 🙂

  10. Argent said,

    May 27, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Thank you so much, Kelleen. I’m thinking about your comments and feeling them resonate. (Would love to hear more about lessons from your youngest horse!)


Leave a Reply

