Just Like “Campbell’s…Canned Tomato Soup”…

Well, sorta like 😉

tomato-Soup_My_like-canned

I had to make slight adjustments to my recipe to make it ETL. (Recipe below)

Here is what you need:

Lemon

Lemons_reg_Meyer

Celery Seeds (from a fresh jar!)

celery-seeds

Carrot and Whole thyme, dry (from a fresh jar!)

Sorry, no pics 😀

Good Quality no-salt Tomato Paste

Tomato-paste

and some Nut Milk

A few more pics of the process, full recipe follows 😉

Carrots added to the celery seed, lemon, and water

tomato-soup_My_celery-seeds-carrots

Later, thyme added…

tomato-soup_my_canned

When it’s thyme, 🙂 add the paste…

tomato-soup_My_like-canned

Stir in thoroughly and bring to a simmer…

tomato-soup-my-simmer

And some nut milk…

nutmilk_quarter-cup

Here shows the blended mixture added to the soup…

tomato-soup_my_carrot-puree

Voila!

Tomato-soup_My_like-canned

Fini!

“Below” 😉 This is quite easy, and quick to make!


~ *** ~

Here is my basic — “like canned tomato soup,” tomato soup to use in recipes calling for same:

Photobucket

*Have your ingredients ready*

Put into a small saucepan and bring to a simmer
1 TB lemon juice
1/4 C water

Add 3/8 tsp celery seeds, simmer couple minutes.

Add 3-ounces carrot, chunks (weight after trimming) and
3/4 C water. Bring to a boil.

Crumble in with your fingers 1/4 tsp dried, whole thyme. Mix. Cover.       Lower heat and
Simmer 10 minutes.
Add pure, unsalted, 3-ounces tomato paste*
Mix thoroughly. Boil, cover, reduce heat to low, and
Simmer 10-15 minutes or till carrots are just done.

Spoon out the carrots and add to blender with 1/4 C nut milk and blend till completely smooth.
Pour and scrape all you can back into pan.
Add 1/2 C water to blender to swish around and clean out the remnants of mixture.
Add to soup.
Mix thoroughly, and
On medium-low heat, bring back to just a simmer and cook, till thoroughly heated, stirring, for a couple of minutes.
Remove from heat. Partially cover. Let sit several minutes before serving.
Variation: Use all nut milk (3/4 C  in place of the 1/4 C nutmilk + 1/2 C water) for a canned “Cream of tomato soup”; etc

Notes: I like to let it sit several minutes before serving, if using right away.
*The picture above is of Bionaturae Tomato Paste– if you use it, use 4-ounces; it seems to be less concentrated than the canned varieties. There are very good canned pastes; even Trader Joe’s Organic makes a good soup. Organic is always preferable. Either way, use the best quality tomato paste you can find, that you know tastes good. This recipe has few ingredients, so it matters! Use fresh celery seed, as well. I have found old containers of spices from 10 years ago, haha.

🙂

Also, you’ll only use about half a can tomato paste, since most come in 6- or 7-ounces:  Leftover tomato paste freezes well; so you don’t have to throw out the rest of it. You can freeze in an ice cube tray, if that’s easier.

Notes on Salt: If you decide to salt, add per Dr. Fuhrman’s recommendations. Also, add after cooking and after it has settled and has sat for a bit, but still warm.

It really doesn’t require much, if you do choose  to use it. I found it to need only 3/8  tsp of salt added to the entire recipe to satisfy those who wanted it — so that’s good news 😀

If you’d like, a pinch of white pepper, AFTER soup is made, is fine; but taste a small portion first: It may effect a flavor you don’t want.

I used a clean-tasting nut milk for this: Use a cashew or almond milk, unsweetened, for example; don’t use a strong tasting seed or nut or something that may give an off-taste.

Of course, you can always add to this, next time you want to make a bit fancier soup by adding various spices, herb; etc., to taste.

Stores well, and even tastes better the following day.

Makes 16-ounces:

tomato-soup_plain_16-oz

Please leave comments on your results, if you try this recipe, thanks!

Strix

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

9 Comments

  1. Shez said,

    February 13, 2009 at 3:44 am

    My daughter thanks you. I am going to try this recipe this weekend. She loves tomato soup of any description.

  2. poxacuatl said,

    February 13, 2009 at 7:53 am

    Hi, Shez! I hope she likes it. 🙂

  3. March 20, 2009 at 11:09 am

    I plan on making this over the weekend. Are the cooking times correct for the carrots – 10 minutes plus 10-15 minutes (20-25 minutes total) before putting into the blender. My carrots are usually tender at 10 minutes when simmered which is why I ask. Maybe they need to be more tender than what I’m used to. Thanks in advance – I know it will be good!

  4. poxacuatl said,

    March 20, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Picks, yes, those are the times I got. I even had to add that extra 5 minutes because mine took that long to cook; but it could be because of the size of my chunks. It could also be the cooking in the tomato paste that makes them take longer — not sure; but the acid in tomatoes often hinders cooking, such as with beans, where they should be added later in recipes or when beans are almost-fully done.

    But, no I definitely don’t like over-cooked carrots either! They lose flavor. But for this recipe it won’t matter so much if they have a slight bite to them. It’s just that it shouldn’t come out tasting like “tomato soup with carrots,” if you know what I mean. You shouldn’t be able to guess it’s in there.

    Tweak as you must 🙂 I don’t think it will be a big deal if you want to add the carrots later. I do think the soup (and the herbs) need the 20-25 minutes cooking time though.

    This is a plain soup, and I devised it to be used in recipes calling for “a can of tomato soup.” I was surprised that people like it as a light meal!
    Are you planning on using if for a meal itself or in a recipe?

  5. March 20, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Thanks Strix! I haven’t had tomato soup in years because the store bought kind has so much junk in it and I don’t have a good recipe. I thought I would make this to go along side my huge dinner salad and steamed green veggies. Sounds like it might make a good cold tomato soup also – something I love in hot weather. I will let you know how it turns out.

  6. March 23, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    I made the soup this weekend with the lower amt of nut milk and ate half hot and the other half cold the next day. Absolutely loved it! Definitely a keeper. You’ve got the herbs and lemon juice tweeked just right – no salt needed. You should post this on drfuhrman.com along with the butterscotch pudding recipe!! I give both 5 stars.

    • poxacuatl said,

      March 23, 2009 at 6:03 pm

      Yay! And “Whew”! 😀 I’m so glad it turned out. Did you have to adjust the cooking times?

      I’m also glad you found it not to need salt! It’s really good without it. Some people just have to have their salt…sometimes I think it’s psychological, haha, or maybe rebellion 😀

      I posted a link to it for people who were asking for one because they couldn’t find one, etc., and no one tried it, I guess.

      I don’t like to “toot my own horn” so to speak, haha; especially on the forum 🙂 But I’m so glad you let me know. It’s so simple and inexpensive, which is nice.

  7. March 24, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Nope, didn’t need to adjust the times at all. I’d be happy to toot your horn for you. I’ll look for the info on the forum.

  8. poxacuatl said,

    March 24, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Awesome! Glad the recipe is solid.

    LOL. You don’t have to toot for me, Picks, haha. That’s very sweet of you!
    You know, I really appreciate that you even tried these recipes andmore that you let me know. 🙂

    I know I have weird tastes sometimes, but when I post something, it’s usually because others besides me say they are good.


Leave a Reply

