ETL Friday!

This is the first installment of “Eat To Live Fridays,” a new category dedicated solely to Eat To Live, the real, “Best Life” program, it’s the lifestyle plan by Dr. Joel Fuhrman. On a designated Friday,  blog entries will be written by guest bloggers or myself on anything Eat To Live! This is more than a “diet”; it’s OUR lives.

The pages will be archived for easy access as well. So, without further ado, this, the first week of ETL Fridays will be an entry by “Argent,”  a member of the Dr.Fuhrman forums. This is her journey; It will be in parts, so stay tuned!

Oh, The Places You’ll Go! Part I

ETLing began for me in a little apartment in Gallup, New Mexico with some blubbering and a recommendation. The blubbering was from me, with my legs up on the wall as if to drain the self-loathing out of my head. The recommendation was from my fiance, a man of logic and steadiness, who loses none of his nobility in the face of blubbering.

Him: Maybe you’d be interested in this [poking at a book review in a magazine]. It’s a diet style by a guy named Fuhrman. Involves lots of vegetables.

Her: (perking up) Oh yeah?

When I’m down, offer me plant life. Soon I was sitting up like a revived houseplant, eating a salad. No more late-afternoon meals of mini Snickers and Three Musketeers while grading the papers of the kids the candy was meant to bribe. Not no more bribes. But no more candy.

Soon my engagement ring was loose.

“Look!” I said to my fiance, showing how it moved with even a little shake of my hand.

“Careful!” he said, as the ring flew off my finger and across the room.

Oh, did I get skinny. The next year I was in Riverside, California, a bride-to-be.

“Honey, I think you’re getting too skinny,” my Mom said.

“You almost disappear when you turn sideways,” my stepdad said.

And they were right.

My commitment to ETL that year was complete. “I’ve discovered the secret to delicious salads,” I reported. “Lots of toppings.” Bell pepper, broccolini, celery, carrot, cucumber, dill. A little persimmon. Some garbanzo beans. Dress with sweet vinegar and eat from a serving bowl while reading poetry from a splashproof cookbook stand. If you’re hungry, this is a wormhole to pleasure.

And I was hungry. Vibrant and shining and hungry. It is possible to get too skinny, full enough of vegetable love that the hunger isn’t too loud, feeling neat as a pin, enjoying the cheer of the falling scale.

On our wedding night, a friend gave my husband and me a basket of fruit and a can of whipped cream, for naughtiness. But I ate the fruit for a midnight meal instead.

To be continued . . .

Argent

Anyone wondering just what kind of fruit that was? Forbidden fruit I imagine 😉

Thank you Argent, we look forward to more. 🙂

Please share your thoughts with comments! We look forward to hearing from you!

Note: Anyone interested in having your say, email me and be heard! Share your ETL experience with a guest blog, and help others. You do not have to be a member of Dr. Fuhrman.com, you just have to be an Eat To Live’r 🙂 And don’t we all have something to say? 😉

sm row smiles

Poxacuatl

9 Comments

  1. moon said,

    January 9, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    love your blog and ETL Fridays is a great idea. great contribution Argent!

    • poxacuatl said,

      January 10, 2009 at 5:39 am

      Thank you, moon, good to see you! And I agree that Argent’s entry is very cool!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting 😀

  2. Barb said,

    January 11, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Don’t make us wait til next week for part 2!

    • poxacuatl said,

      January 11, 2009 at 9:31 am

      Lol! I know, I know, but what can I say? Writers are SO temperamental! :^)

      Thanks for your support; I’m sure Argent appreciates it too!

      ETA: I will be adding Part II next Friday, with possibly Part III

  3. Robin said,

    January 11, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Are you sure it wasn’t Passion Fruit? *smile* I’ll be waiting for the next installment.

    Your blog is chock full of information! Thank you for sharing it. (Now I have so many ideas and so little time!)

  4. poxacuatl said,

    January 11, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Thanks, Robin! Let’s hope it was passion fruit 😉
    I also have too many ideas. I have about 10 blog drafts,all unfinished!

  5. Argent said,

    January 12, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Thanks for your comments and support, Moon, Barb, and Robin! Will I get to read your ETL journeys on ETL Friday, too?! I hope so. Cheers (clinking of blended salad glasses).

  6. January 16, 2009 at 3:03 am

    […] January 16, 2009 at 3:00 am (ETL FRIDAYS!, Eat to Live, Nutrition) Tags: Dr. Fuhrman, Eat to Live, ETL, ETL FRIDAYS!, Guest Blogger, health, Nutrition Hey, Everyone, welcome back   It’s Argent’s journey from last week’s ETL Friday, this week. You can read the first installment, HERE. […]

  7. January 23, 2009 at 3:14 am

    […] for a refresher, read Part I, Part II, Part […]


Leave a Reply

