Spring In January…

Well, almost 😀

I totally scored! Take a look: Kinda funky; Can you guess what it is?

Jerusalem-Artichoke_Sunchoke
*
No, not an alien… 😉

*Not sure yet?

Jerusalem-Artichoke_Sunchoke

*Okay, how about now?

Jerusalem-Artichoke_Sunchoke

So yummy. They are Jerusalem Artichokes, aka, Sunchokes

Strange looking little fellers, but yummy. You don’t have to peel them, the skin is very thin; but they do need a scrubbing. And much like potatoes, the dark coloring isn’t necessarily indicative of dirt. It is just stained, I guess; or that’s its color 🙂 . They are white insided and very crisp, crunchy and juicy. Tasty and sweet, very much like, and a good substitute for, fresh Chinese water chestnuts, those crunchy white rounds often in stirfries. They are also very filling. They can be cooked or eaten raw. Another good sub for any of these would be jicama, which is a Latin version sub.  AND another similar…

Wow, I’m sooo lucky!

kohlrabi

Greens and…take a look at them gams!

Kohlrabi

Haha!
Yep, kohlrabi 🙂 Love this stuff; another one of my faves for my salads. Super healthy cancer fighting cruciferous, these are and should be sweet. They, like most bulbs, tubers, and roots are best bought with their greens attached so you can tell how fresh they are! Those greens make excellent Green Juicie Green Smoothies 😀 These appear just in time too. I’m getting ready for another round of cultured veggie making. Soon as my broccoli sprouts are done, I’ll be dedicating a few hours to making a mother lode :). Then, come Spring — O, I cannot wait to get back to the Farmers’ Markets! This little taste of Spring has me itching for all the goodies to come.

Wow, just felt a California earthquake! It’s 7:51 pm. Pretty strong and wavy aftershocks. Hmmm. I’ve actually been feeling small ones for a couple days, but I thought them my imagination. Time to check the news.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Strix

4 Comments

  1. gon2be said,

    January 16, 2009 at 3:26 am

    You know I tried eating cooked sunchokes once and they made me ill. My stomach twisted into knots for hours. I read afterwards that they can be hard to digest for some people. Me, I guess.

    • poxacuatl said,

      January 16, 2009 at 8:18 am

      Really?! Ick. I’ve never cooked them. I react to them the same as other rooty veggies like carrots and beets. Do you have problems with those? They are (should be) sweet and crispy and good raw in salads. Hmmm, maybe try it that way, but shred them for easier eating and digesting 🙂

  2. gon2be said,

    January 17, 2009 at 5:27 am

    No, I guess I should give them another go. Raw this time in a salad. Other root veggies don’t bother me. Weird.

  3. March 13, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    […] 13, 2009 at 3:53 pm (Uncategorized) Okay, so there wasn’t an official other “round,” but it was […]


Leave a Reply

