Kale Chips…

Photobucket

**See addendum regarding baking these at the bottom of this post**

Believe it or not, this is NOT a complete entry!! This is me, rushed, lol. Lots more to come, but, here we go…

Okay, I had a looooooooooooong(er!!!) post with several recipes to post for these; however, I think I’ll just post this one for today, and the others in a few days. I just moved this week, plus the holidays are here already; so I’ve been super busy. SO, let’s get to it:

I was inspiredby these kale chips online. What a shock to see so wholesome a packaged product! Unfortunately, salty and too fatty, and they use agave nectar (which is just as bad as any other sugar) and WAY overpriced. C’mon, kale does NOT cost all that much! And, hey, how hard can these be??!

There are some recipes for kale chips online, but they are — yep — LOADED with fat, some, including oil, and all include salt; none of which anyone needs, right? Right :D.

Mine are better, in my opinion πŸ˜‰ These are healthiest chips you’ll EVER eat!

Recipes I’ve seen call for up to 1 C of nut or seed butters, and some add oil on top of that (!!) for a small volume of greens So, I’ve cut it down well enough to still get great flavor and texture. You will get lotsa chips from this too; whereas recipes calling for loads of dressing use less greens. You can always make these richer or less so, all to your taste. I’ve made very low fat and the higher fat — truth is they are both yummy, but the richer ones, have better flavor. It’s all going to depend on your taste, how much you want to make, how much of these you will eat (watch it: these can revive “snacking” probs, if that’s one of your demons! You’ve been warned), and for what purpose…These are an awesome way to get in those greens! Especially if you don’t like green smoothies (pshaw!) or can’t get in enough, or just want some greens variety. Great with soups! I eat these with my ETL salads πŸ™‚
Okay, lots of pics to show you and the first recipe! (For ease of reading the recipe sans the pics, scroll down to the near bottom: It’s written out there)

Thought I’d post the curry first, since I make this most often:

You need:

A dehydrator and blender

My Curry Dressing

9- 12Β  -ounces Dino-Kale (weight after de-stemming)

Additional Nutritional Yeast, for sprinkling atop, Optional

THE INGREDIENTS:

Kales_fresh

9- or 12-ounces Dinosaur Kale, Fresh, Washed, De-stemmed, torn into bite-sized pieces. Curly kale is fine; but Dino, preferred:


Photobucket

1/2 C Sesame Seeds OR SunflowerSeeds, (measure before soaking, if you do so; you can use more, if you wish to make them richer)

Photobucket

OR

sunflower-seeds


3/4 – 1 tsp good-tasting, good-quality, fresh Curry Powder — your favorite, or your own homemade (I recommend Penzey’s Maharajah Curry powdersee “BELOW“)


Photobucket

1/2 tsp Cumin Seeds, whole (I sometimes add up to 1 tsp)


Photobucket

1 tsp Coriander Seeds, whole, (or 1/2 tsp ground powder)


Photobucket


8 ounces Tomato, fresh (about 2 smallish (canned, okay)


Photobucket


3 TB Apple Cider Vinegar


Photobucket


1/2 – 1Β  Red Bell Pepper (about 5-ounces; OR use just the tomato; or just the bells — but both is best)


Photobucket


3 -4 TB Nutritional Yeast ( I like 4)


Photobucket




1 tsp Garlic powder* (Yes, that’s only a half teaspoon in the pic — double it!)


Photobucket


2 tsp Onion Powder*


Photobucket


Black Pepper, to taste


Photobucket


Additional Nutritional Yeast, ORΒ  “Sprinkle” (see Notes) Optional, for sprinkling on leaves right after tossing in dressing to stick (not after dehydrated!)

Photobucket


Okey Dokey?Β  Now…

THE PROCESS

Add ingredients to the blender



Photobucket

Photobucket

Give it a good whiz Yes, it is watching you!:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Pour over leaves…

Photobucket

…and toss (pic is of a different sauce; I don’t have one of the curry, but this is how it’s done):

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

You want them thickly coated:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Place on dehydrator trays:

Photobucket

Choose your temp (See “Notes” on temperature)

Photobucket

…and let them go!! Make sure they are THOROUGHLY dry. The time they take to be done will depend on the temperature you choose and how many trays you put in at a time. I usually do 4 trays, spread, cranked to the highest temp — takes about 2 – 2 1/2 hours. So it will vary.

TA DA!!



Photobucket

Enjoy!! sm row smiles

*You can try this without garlic and onion powders, if you don’t consume them; It’s still pretty good

********

Below” πŸ˜‰

Photobucket

I like Penzey’s Maharajah curry powder for this (if for nothing else; I’m not a fan of prepared powders. I make my own, and even then I rarely use it.) This one is not hot. If you like spicy, then add some πŸ˜€

This is the key to the Penzey’s Maharajah — Saffron!

Photobucket

This is what makes their Maharajah:Β  The subtlety is *perfect*; if you know saffron, it is — well, to me — a bit difficult to use. It’s tricky — you can easily use too much or too little; and it doesn’t always taste good in things you think it will! Anyway, it is incredible on these chips. The Penzey’s has *just* the right amount.

So make sure the curry powder you choose is one you like: the recipe depends quite a bit on it, though it will come out good anyway πŸ˜‰ OR add some saffron to yours! It’s outstanding for these chips!

Not the best pic, but Here are some with a topping; makes them look a bit nicer too:

chips_cheesy

NOTES:Β  You can use my cheesy sprinkle to top, if you wish; it works quite well on with any dressing on kale chips, actually.

You can use your nut/seed/or combo of choice + nutritional yeast. a commercial product uses walnuts + nutritional yeast (but they add salt), for example, which is very good. I like to add a bit of coconut to my nut-seed sprinkles; but here, I used just pignolis…

Photobucket

BUT, finely minced…

Photobucket

by hand: It’s best, with very delicate, oily nuts, to hand mince, or you will end up with butter :). Quite easy and quick.

Regarding, the temp — I crank my dehydrator to the highest temp. They may or may not be “RAW.” However, I’m not a “raw foodist,” so that’s of no consequence to me. IF, however, you are a raw food purist, you can absolutely make these: Simply lower the temp to whatever you believe best, and let them go. I’ve done it and they come out great. I just let them go overnight. Delish either way πŸ˜€

Here is the recipe without pics for ease of reading πŸ˜€

My CURRIED KALE CHIPS

Curry Dressing

9- 12Β  -ounces Dino-Kale (weight after de-stemming)

Additional Nutritional Yeast, for sprinkling atop, Optional

CURRY DRESSING:

1/2 C Sesame Seeds OR sunflower seeds, (measure before soaking)

3/4 – 1 tsp good-tasting, good-quality Curry Powder — your favorite (I recommend Penzey’s Maharajah Curry powder-see “Below”, or your homemade)

1/2 tsp Cumin Seeds, whole (I sometimes add up to 1 tsp)

1 tsp Coriander Seeds, whole, (or 1/2 tsp ground powder)

8 ounces Tomato, fresh (about 2 smallish (canned, okay)

3 TB Apple Cider Vinegar

1/2 – 1 Red Bell Pepper (about 5-ounces (or use just the tomato; or just the bells — but both is best)

3 -4 TB Nutritional Yeast ( I like 4)

1 tsp Garlic powder*
2 tsp Onion Powder
*

Black Pepper, to taste

Additional Nutritional Yeast, Optional

Blend up all except the black pepper, till smooth and creamy

Stir in freshly-ground optional black pepper to taste.

Toss thoroughly with prepared leafy pieces to coat.

Sprinkle with optional additional nutritional yeast.

Place on trays.


Dehydrate thoroughly till nice and crispy-crunchy
!

*You can try this without these, if you don’t consume onions and garlic. It’s still pretty good

An important consideration: The dressing is not going to taste ideal on its own; it must stand up to those greens! So try it first – maybe test a few leaves by drying; then, see: If the dressing isn’t up to your taste, then adjust the seasoning. The dressings for green leafy chips must be much more concentrated in flavor; so you must concentrate the seasoning. Just keep that in mind πŸ˜‰ they will taste different once dried and ready to eat. some of the dressings taste too vinegary, for example, but, again, it’s not going to be so after they’re dehydrated; the vinegar tempers the harshness in the fiber of green leafies. Soon, like me, you’ll be whipping these out without a recipe!!

Enjoy!
Photobucket

I have made DElish ones using a good hummus style, sans the beans and using only the sesame/tahini; I’ve not used one with beans, but that might be a good experiment. I have LOADS to share about these chips! But, for now, Go wild with it; it’s SUPER easy!

More to come: Here are some I’ve had success with that will be posted soon!

Avocado, based

“Ranch”

Cesar

Nacho cheesy

Until then OR if you don’t like curry-flavors, here is a GENERAL guide:

This is the one I started with when I first began:

1/2 c SESAME SEEDS OR SUNFLOWER SEEDS (or other)
1/4 C APPLE CIDER 9OR BALSAMIC +LEMON)
1 LARGE GARLIC
1 tsp ONION POWDER
1/2 C WATER
1/4 C NUTRITIONAL YEAST
1 tsp WET BROWN MUSTARD, Westbrae,
BLACK PEPPERCORNS
HERBS,SPICES, etc. OPTIONAL( can’t go wrong with cumin! It’s great with the flavor of greens)

Another quick example:

1/2 C soaked unhulled (brown) sesame seeds (measure before soaking)
3/4 – 1 tsp cumin seeds
1/2 tsp Coriander powder
2-4 TB nuttritional yeast
1/4 C apple cider vinegar
1/2-3/4 C Water
2-4 TB Nutritional Yeast

Lemon Zest, few scrapes, optional

Variation examples (omit water first and add later if needed):
Use bell pepper
Use tomato, fresh (or sundried)

As you can see LOADS of things you can do! You can try a favorite dressing; HOWEVER…I *strongly* advise you to concentrate your seasonings. In other words, make your dressing stronger (by doubling you seasoning (not volume), for example) than you would for simply a salad.
But do try mine πŸ™‚ Try a few leaves if you’re hesitant; then adjust to taste. This way you can see how to do it TO YOUR liking πŸ˜€

If you share this with anyone, please link to my blog as the source. THANKS! Oh, and please leave a comment if you try these…well, if you like them that is πŸ˜‰

***To give credit where credit is due, the idea of kale chips, is actually not new! It just sort of is because the raw foodies came up with it for dehydrating. Joanne Stepaniak actually made these years ago, I do recall; however, she sprayed them with oil and used just salt and pepper, I think — certainly not a sauce. They were also baked at 350-degrees (actually, I think higher, but I’ll say 350- to be on the conservative side), which is not very healthful for greens. Dry, high heat = loss of nutrients and acrylamides! May as well just eat regular chips!

From Disease Proof:

Many whole-grain cold cereals are so processed and overly cooked that they have lost most of their nutritional value. Because these foods were dry-baked to make them crisp, they are also generally high in acrylamides and other toxic compounds. Soaking, sprouting, or cooking grains in water, instead of eating pre-cooked breakfast cereals, is a much healthier and more nutritious way to eat them.

On the other hand, you can try baking these in a more healthful manner at a low temperature in your oven. Go the lowest you can and watch *carefully,* perhaps moving them around often. A forum member over at Dr. Fuhrman.com mentioned she uses her oven as a dehydrator by attaching a lightbulb in there! Very clever πŸ™‚ . You can do the same. Some people keep their temp at the lowest and leave the door slightly ajar to let air circulate and keep the temp low (some even put small fans in); however, this may be a great way to waste energy!

So, a dehydrator is best, but you can still give baking these a try πŸ™‚ . Please let me know if you do! I’d love to know the results

Poxacuatl

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

25 Comments

  1. December 29, 2008 at 8:26 am

    I emailed this to my sister (who just purchased a fancy new dehydrator for their family christmas present).

    What beautiful work you are doing, Linda Louise–you are a sight on earth! πŸ™‚

    Joy in your world!

    Wayne (aka “Here & Now”)

  2. poxacuatl said,

    December 29, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Thanks, Wayne! I appreciate you stopping by. I hope she likes the recipe; if not, the idea is ripe for experimenting! Just a good sauce + greens = Yummy chips! πŸ™‚

    Joy to you too!

  3. Chris said,

    February 23, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Yummy – I just made this dish and it was great! That’s what I like, delicious AND healthy.

    • poxacuatl said,

      February 23, 2009 at 5:24 pm

      Oh, yay! Hahaha. Thanks for telling me! And thanks for stopping by πŸ˜‰

      Oh, I’m going to have to peruse your site — looks interesting!

  4. March 26, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    LL – How long do I soak the seeds for? I bought some dino kale at the farmer’s market yesterday just so I could try one of these recipes. Thanks!

  5. poxacuatl said,

    March 26, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    Hi, Picks! How funny…After seeing your tahini-lime combo, it reminded me of one the dressings I make for these kale chips and I thought I would make some! Probably tomorrow πŸ™‚

    For sunflower seeds, to be honest you don’t have to; it makes them more nutritious to soak and more easily blended (not a prob for a Blendteccer, though). So you don’t “have to” for most nuts and seeds.

    But for unhulled sesame seeds, they do have to be soaked 4 hours. You could get away with 2, maybe.
    (if the nutritious angle to soaking isn’t a concern, you can bypass this by soaking in hot water for about 30 minutes, then drain, and rinse very well until the water is totally clear. Sort of a little cheat. It won’t make then non-nutritious, just not as nutritious)

    For hulled sesame, you don’t have to soak; if you want to, anywhere from 1/2 hour to 4 is good.

    Oh, and, I know I wrote it in that long rambling post, but, if you don’t like the resultant chips flavorings, it will at least give you an idea on using your own creations :). It’s such a great way to eat more kale! I can eat a load of these myself. I don’t worry, though, because kale is so low in calories and the dressing contains a little fat which actually aids in absorption of the green nutrients. πŸ˜€

    I hope you like them Picks. Three for three would be great, lol

  6. March 27, 2009 at 6:49 am

    Thanks LL, I’m all out of Penzey’s curry powder so will try one of the other variations – so many choices and decisions to make. Will let you know. I don’t have a dehydrator (yet) so will be baking at 250 in my oven.

  7. March 29, 2009 at 6:37 am

    LL, I made these yesterday, soaked sunflower seeds for 4 hours then blended with apple cider vinegar, mustard, nooch, etc., added in some cumin and Mrs. Dash. Put in the oven for 6:45 on warm (150 degrees according to my oven thermometer). Turned out awesome!!! I only had 6oz of dino kale after destemming so just used half of the dressing. That is all that would fit in my oven though, on two cookie sheets. I have been thinking of getting a dehydrator for over a year now (like the HP blender decision, pricey, takes up room in small kitchen, DH looking at me like I’m nuts…). Do you have one and if so does it hold more than say 2 cookie sheets in the oven? And what kind would your recommend? Thanks in advance, as always!

    • poxacuatl said,

      March 30, 2009 at 10:47 am

      Picks, I’m glad they came out. πŸ™‚ You can see how easy it is to come up with tasty chips! I gotta make some now, haha.

      I use an Excalibur, 9-tray dehydrator. I’m able to fit the 12-16 ounces in mine, but I only use the four trays. The reason, is that the leafies have height so they will be squished if I used all the trays. There’s not enough space between them. If I did fill all the trays, It would work, but be messy and take longer. So I do 4 trays most of the time. Does that make sense?

      Being able to remove trays to accommodate bulkier foods is one of the attractions of the Excalibur. The thing I don’t like about it is the flimsy door. It is a separate piece; it’s not attached to the dehydrator. It’s annoying. I’ve dropped it many times. Finally chipped it; but it still works.
      There is another one out now called the “Good4U” dehydrator. It has the advantage of self-closing trays, so no need for a door. BUT, you cannot remove trays to accommodate height or bulk.

      I was about to get a Good4U also; but decided against it for the reason above.

      Now if some bright person could come up one with removable trays AND an attached door, that would be awesome. I have a friend I’m trying to recruit to see if he can attach the door to the Excalibur with a hinge or somehow, πŸ˜€ Maybe I should look into doing it myself.

      I’m also a nutcase about plastic and have been looking into stainless steel ones; but they’re very expensive, and I’m still okay with this one for now.

      there is a thread at Dr. F.Forum in the Cook to Live section, entitled “food dehydrator.” Same thing I mentioned here, basically.

  8. March 30, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Thanks for all of the info. I used the left over dressing, blended in some fresh parsley and made another batch of chips yesterday using 6oz curly kale – ended up eating a whole batch in one day – dangerously tasty indeed!!

  9. Becky Leppard said,

    August 12, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    LL,

    i have made these chips and just love them. I am out right now and waiting to get more kale! They go so fast! I was looking at the recipe site at Dr. Fuhrman.com to see if this recipe is posted there. I couldn’t find it. Do you mind if I post it, or would you like to post it if you don’t mind it being posted there.
    Becky

    • poxacuatl said,

      August 13, 2009 at 3:24 pm

      Ha! I know that feeling! I love kale chips :^)! Hi, Becky, how are you?
      So glad you like them — yay! Thanks for letting me know, I appreciate it.
      I don’t mind if you recommend these anywhere! Just post a link to my blog– use this one https://poxacuatl.wordpress.com/2008/12/21/kale-chips/
      I don’t want to submit this to the recipe section, if that’s what you mean (?) because it will then become “property of the Dr. Furman site,” etc. However, you can recommend the kale chips and link to them from the Dr. Fuhrman forum/boards! (or anywhere) But I don’t want to “submit” to the recipe collection, if you know what I mean. Thanks!
      Enjoy the chips!! Hail King Kale ;^) πŸ˜€

  10. Becky Leppard said,

    October 6, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Have you ever made these with collards or chard? I’m thinking about trying it with collards but would like to know if anybody else had tried it and if there are some changes I need to make .

    Becky

    • poxacuatl said,

      November 26, 2009 at 8:45 am

      Yep, collards work! Personally, I like kale best, but other cabbages are good. Even purple cabbage leaves are yummy ;^)

      I didn’t like chard, myself, but you might. Try a few and see.

      On the other hand, baby spinach makes beautiful little chips! Yummy and “salty” too. Interestingly, the baby spinach leaves don’t shrivel! They come out exactly the size they go in (I’m referring to dehydrating them). Perfect chip size too. Only thing — they are a bit fussier in that their size makes them a bit more difficult to lay out singly onto sheets. They end up on top of each other, which is okay for a few, but you want to spread them out in a single layer as best you can. In other words just not piled.
      They are even good just plain. Spinach has a high sodium content which enhances their flavor.

  11. Shez said,

    November 15, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    LInda Louise, I finally got around to making these. OMG, my husband, daughter and I were in heaven. They are incredibly good. I can’t wait to experiment with them.

    Becky, I was wondering about collards as well. I think I may experiment with them.
    these links indicate that people are using collards. I like the idea of trying LL’s dressing on collards
    http://tinkeringwithdinner.blogspot.com/2008/02/csa-week-13-baked-collard-chips.html
    http://blog.strawberryhedgehog.com/2009/08/salt-vinegar-collard-chips.html
    http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=44552221517&topic=8291

    • poxacuatl said,

      November 26, 2009 at 8:48 am

      Hey, Shez! Awesome to hear from ya.
      I’m glad you and the fam liked the chips! Yes, try any leafy you like. Collards come out good. they may take a bit longer because they have thicker veins and are generally more dense than the kales.

      Oh, and some of the pics in the post are of collards :^)

  12. sea said,

    January 2, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    These sound delightful. I love penzey’s spices and will have to check out their curry powder. I usually make my own as well, but their garam masala is handy in a time crunch.

    Thanks for the inspiration! I’m now motivated to get out my dehydrator. πŸ™‚

    -Sea

    • poxacuatl said,

      May 17, 2010 at 1:49 pm

      Cool! Hi, Sea! I recall perusing your fantastic site for vegan gf recipes!

      As much as one can love an appliance, I love my dehydrator ;^)

      Thanks for stopping by!

  13. Kale Chips said,

    April 12, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    […]   Fun recipe for chips made from fresh Kale! […]

  14. Sylett said,

    July 29, 2010 at 10:40 am

    I made these yesterday and I really liked them. I posted about them on my blog and linked back to your recipe. I hope that is alright. I do have a question for you. How do you store these? I put them in a zip loc bag overnight and this afternoon they were not as crisp as they were yestarday. I realize that a trip in the oven would do th etrick but what about if you are out and about? I’m thinking about schol lunches and the like. Thanks for any tips you may have for the rare occasion you have leftovers or want to make these up for a party etc.

    • poxacuatl said,

      July 29, 2010 at 1:41 pm

      Hi, glad you like them!
      Yes, sadly, the plastic bags, especially are guaranteed to soften them.

      Firstly, I would say to make sure they are *thoroughly* dried — in other words — what you would think would be overkill πŸ˜‰ They often seem like they are, but aren’t. I’ve had this experience over and over, and “over-drying” them works great.
      (If you are baking these in the oven, it’s even easier to misjudge this)

      Secondly, I have wrapped them — very well — in aluminum foil and that works great (like a bag of chips bag would); just make sure to seal well.
      I, personally, don’t like foil _at_all_ but on occasion, and for not long storage, it works great; and, I’m not really too concerned since the food is dry.

      Now, my third experience may or may not work for you or your circumstance because I’ve only discovered it recently and am not sure about recommending it as an iron-clad solution: I stored some nice and crispy vegetable “chips” I made in those green food storage bags, BUT wrapped in parchment. Now, I’m not sure which, if either (or both!) of these things are the key. The chips were not thoroughly wrapped and sealed in the parchment, and, in fact, the parchment has at times been sort of just thrown in with it. (I then sealed the contents by closing the green bag with a twist tie). So, my thinking is that the parchment is keeping things crispy — Most probable by absorbing any moisture which may be exposed to the chips…not sure, but that sounds pretty good :D. OR, perhaps the sealing nature of the green bags is keeping any moisture out…hmmm…the mysteries of the kitchen! πŸ™‚
      So if you wanna try that one,it may be an alternative.

      Also mind the weather! When it is humid it’s going to be more likely to happen.

      Will you let me know if any of these work? Would appreciate it!

      Oh, and *thank you* for linking back to my blog, I’m sort of a stickler about sourcing. (where is your blog?!)

  15. September 23, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    I finally got around to making these – have been drooling over them for the longest time. They are excellent! Thanks for the great recipe and the very detailed instructions.

    • Strix said,

      September 24, 2010 at 1:15 pm

      Yay! Thanks for letting me know. :’)

  16. eugene said,

    April 21, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    excellent! Made a bunch yesterday and its all gone today. All liked em – kids and picky adults

    • Strix said,

      May 2, 2011 at 5:19 am

      Awesome! πŸ˜€ I think I need to make some soon, myself! It’s been a while. They’re so easy. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

