Sprout Jar Lids…What I did…

LIDS!! I mentioned before about preferring the stainless steel mesh lids to the plastic lids. However, I also mentioned I liked the idea of the plastic rings, a.k.a bands, offered by SproutPeople (who promptly went out of town just as I tried to order them!).

Why? Well — take a looksee:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Ugh! Happened sooner than I thought it would. SproutPeople said they don’t mind using the rusty instruments; I, however, do mind!

I searched hardware stores, garden centers, etc., and found no plastic bands! Very frustrating; I mean, there have got to be some out there that fit mason jars…why on Pluto wouldn’t the Ball or Kerr folks make them anyway? Hmmm..Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Could it be a money issue? NahhhhPhotobucket - Video and Image Hosting

That’s the way it rolls…

So, SproutPeople outta Dodge, I took my green lid and…
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

A liiiiiiiittle  _more_ *grunt* _el_bow_ grease….

Success! :D…
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Now, just slip in the mesh strainers just as with the metal bands…

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Ta-Da! 😀

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I guess, if I were eating small amounts of sprouts, I’d go this route; they will keep a long time, I imagine, so the very small investment would be worth it. I’ll keep a couple of these on hand ;). Good news is, Handy Pantry sells those plastic lids separately if I ever need more. In stores, I’ve only seen them as part of the sprouting jar kit; I don’t need any more jars! Just the lids, please. One problem I anticipate is that the screens may still rust! I’ll have to update on that.

Just another option 🙂

Pox

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Leave a Reply

