Pot-Growing Veggies

So here are my potted greens growing on my balcony. Doing very well. I wasn’t sure if they would. Only question now is WHEN & HOW to harvest?!?!! I don’t know if I need to pull, cut, hack or what. And are these supposed to be harvested to continue growing or is this all I get? A one shot deal?? green sad big

Behold, the King of Kruciferae, the Mighty KALE:

Kale 2

Here’s Kale shortly after transferring its new home, straight from the farmer’s market:

Baby Kale:

Photobucket

The Other Calcium PowerHouse from the Family Choi of Cruciferae, Baby Pak:

bok 2

Here it is on its homecoming, Baby, Baby Pak Choi:

Photobucket

Another CalciYUM-rich green, commonly disparaged as a “weed,” The Dandiest of Dandies, meet THE DANDELIONS (with a little bok in there):

Bok Dandelions 2

Baby’s Arrival, THE DANDELIONS:

Photobucket

Pox_Large row smiles

2 Comments

  1. wanderandscrawl said,

    August 15, 2008 at 11:17 am

    I love all of your Farmer’s Market bounty photos. I’m always tempted to do the same thing when I come home with a bag full of beautiful gifts from the ground! Just ate some Pok Choy from my mom’s garden last weekend. Delicious, tender little guys!

  2. poxacuatl said,

    August 15, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    I know, the produce is so beautiful to look at aside from eating, lol.

    Food tastes so much better when home-grown. I bet I’d be swiping all kinds of Pok from my mom if she had some growing :^) My dad grew grapes for years and hardly got any himself!


Leave a Reply

