Farmer’s Sunday for an Eat To Live’r…

Okay, trip to the Sunday’s Farmers Market, yielded some good Springtime goodies. I was so excited to find BROCCOLI GREENS!!! Where have you been all my life? I’ve never added broccoli to Green Smoothies. I’ve actually been looking for broccoli sprouts, which I usually put in my salads; but WHOA What a find! So incredibly DARK GREEN, and SO fresh…These will be a regular in my Green Juicie Green Smoothies, Guar-an-teed!

Okay, Here we go…

Start with some flowers:

Veggies, kinda sloppy…just sort of plopped onto the table D:

Flowers; Chamomile; Beet greens; Red Bell Peppers; Mexican Spinach; Chrysanthemum Greens; the-most-gorgeous-green-almost blue Broccoli Greens:

Here you can see the Chrysanthemum greens a bit better:



I found these *stunning* radishes!
In the East,
Shinrimei, “Beauty in the Heart”; referred to as Watermelon Radishes, or Roseheart Radishes in the West.
I’ve never had these before and they are as good as they look. No hot-spicy flavor or “bite”; very mild — delicious! Wouldn’t these be great for Valentines menu? Cut into heart shapes?

They vary in size.
Here is a larger one, whole:


Here is the first layer of a typical salad of mine:

Beets, Kohlrabi, Watermelon Radish, Carrot; Super-Baby Choi; Purple Cabbage:

Big_Ol’ Bowl D



Didn’t even add greens yet ;) I’ll get an entire salad up one of these days; but this gives you an idea of how much goes into one of my “salads.”

End with some flowers, and a cup of fresh Chamomile tea:


Great for before bed, or to relax. It’s in a lot of those herbal tea combinations. Also good for digestion after a meal; combined with ginger, even better! And, wow, what a difference fresh makes! I’ve never had chamomile tea from fresh-cut chamomile. It is much more powerful than teabags. I was totally relaxed within 15 minutes of drinking it! I thought I didn’t use enough, actually. Chamomile tends to get stronger as it sits, too; and I always leave the bag in. So also just left the leaves and flowers in this cup, and it was more delicious as well.

3 Comments

  1. July 9, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    […] to utilize both. And I had some wonderful chamomile ‘liquor’ I’d made from fresh, organic chamomile flowers I got this Spring from a local farmer! Made the most delicious tea; I made a ton and froze in ice cubes — still […]

  2. Anon said,

    May 30, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Sorry to bring this up, but I thought you should know that chamomile contains coumarin which has liver and kidney toxicity (usually after consuming quite a bit of it): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coumarin

    • poxacuatl said,

      May 30, 2009 at 9:44 am

      Everything has a level of toxicity. One can overdose on any thing.

      There are cautions with every herb and/or remedy. One must do research to determine its efficacy for individual use.

      Chamomile tea is not poisonous. The main consideration is for those with allergies to ragweed to avoid it. Common sense.


Leave a Reply

